Magnum ice-cream is a 100% pure Vegeterian product. In the interest of consumer awareness this has been declared on the packaging which carries the standard ‘Veg’ logo symbolized by a Green dot. There has been some incorrect speculation that Magnum ice-cream which is imported from Thailand and sold in India by Hindustan Unilever Limited uses E-471 sourced from animal fat. We wish to categorically clarify that this is absolutely incorrect and without any factual basis.
Magnum ice-cream uses a standard emulsifier called mono diglyceride which is classified as E-471 under the India Food law. This is a commonly used emulsifier in the ice-cream industry & is also used by various other brands in the market. E-471 can be sourced from either vegetable fat OR animal fat. The emulsifier used in Magnum ice-cream is derived from a pure vegetarian source which is palm based and NOT animal fat, and hence is a 100% pure Vegetarian product.